Faculty of Science and Humanities

ametunivDepartment of Physics
Programmes Offered
M.Sc. Physics

The Department of Physics, AMET was established in the academic year 2001-2002. Physics is an integral part of every scientific innovation and lays a strong foundation to future technology. We offerPostgraduate and Doctoral Programmes for highly motivated students who are interested in pursuing a career in Physics. Our curriculum is enriched to expose the students to fundamental and advanced coursesin Physics. We strive and make them competent in understanding and applying theoretical and practical knowledge in frontier areas or science and technology.

Presently the department has a team of ten faculty members with PhDs and Post-doctoral experience from reputed National and International Institutions. The Department research is funded by various government organizations such as DST, CSIR, DAE and Industries and has over 300 publications in National and International Journals.


To excel in the field of Physics to produce Physicists and Engineers with in-depth subject knowledge and application skills.


  • To achieve excellence in Physics Teaching, Research and Innovation.
  • To conduct cutting edge Research in frontier areas of Physics.

Research Thrust Areas

  • Optical Instrumentation
  • Nano and Biophotonics
  • Supercapacitors
  • Density Function Theory
  • Photocatalytic Water Treatment
  • Non-linear Optic Materials
  • Luminescent Materials
  • Soil Physics

Research Facilities

  • Electrochemical Workstation and Impedance Analyzer
  • Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy
  • Photothermal Spectroscopy
  • UV-Visible Spectroscopy
  • Nanomaterial Fabrication Unit
  • Photocatalytic Reactors

Research Labs

  • Optics and Photonics Laboratory
  • Nanophotonics Research Laboratory
  • Optoelectronic device Laboratory
  • Energy and Biophotonics Laboratory